A Pictorial Primer on Gift Buying…

Posted: August 25, 2009 in Uncategorized

…and it’s purely coincidental that my birthday is less than a month away. I would never use this blog to air my wish-list to my husband. That wouldn’t be right. It would be taking ill advantage of the bandwidth my little cyberneighborhood is consuming. So, this is a general, generic, random list of what the average 43-year-old mom might want on the day of her birth.

London1) Trip to London! Actually, I already got this gift in 2004, but that has done the exact opposite of keeping me from wanting to go again. I LOVE London. Love, love, love. Big Ben. Double decker buses. People who don’t like Americans. I like it all! Oh, and afternoon tea…I ESPECIALLY adore afternoon tea.

London calendar

2) In lieu of an actual trip to London, I would settle for a London calendar…and then I can see my favorite city all year long (at least that’s what I’ll tell myself.)

lecreuset

3) THIS guy has been on my wish list for awhile. It’s a Le Creuset french oven and it makes spectacular soups and stews and roasted meat. Sounds great, yes? Yes. Except no. Because of the fact that this 7-quart pot made of iron and enamel is over THREE HUNDRED dollars. Even if I have this pot for the rest of my days, that’s just really a lot of cash for soup-cooking. So…take a look at this guy:

Tramontina round dutch oven 6½ quart

4) This is a Tramontina dutch oven (please don’t ask me the difference between a dutch and a french…I’m pretty sure that no matter what anyone else tells you, the difference is primarily CASH). It comes in pretty colors and it’s made of the exact same substance as the Le Creuset – iron and enamel – and yet this pot is available at Walmart for about $60. Now, there are some things I won’t skimp on. Ummm….doctors, medicine, fish (cheap seafood scares me) and makeup. But cast iron and enamel? Give me the cheap! Also, Cook’s magazine gave Tramontina an excellent rating and recommended it instead of the hundreds-of-dollars version.

twinkies-bake-set-5

Okay, for the uninitiated, this is not a Twinkie…but a Twinkie holder. Every true Twinkie afficianado needs one. I think it’s in the International Twinkie Code of Protocol. Therefore, I think I need…oh wait…this is embarassing…I actually already have this. So never mind.

bmw

So, this is pretty.

And it’s red.

And it goes fast. Really, really fast.

But….

I’d rather have this:

kkv-kids-1-22

Help an orphan find a home…or get a college education…or start a business..or make a life.

Maybe I just know really great people, but I can’t think of any 43-year-old woman on the planet who wouldn’t feel exactly the same way.

(But I also want the pretty soup pot!)

Helping Steve help Bo,

Bo

Comments
  1. Can’t speak for the 43-year-olds, but this 53-year-old feels exactly the same way. In fact, I just made up a clever poem, right this minute:

    Don’t give me cars or fancy pearls,
    Just help me help some orphan girls.

    Feel free to use it, Bo. It isn’t copyrighted or anything.

    Love ya

  2. BTW, on the strength of all your subliminal and not-so-subliminal messages lately, I have a lovely pot of homemade soup simmering on the stove, a can of pumpkin waiting to be transformed into cookies, and I even bought the ingredients to make the little peach tart thingies. You have entirely too much influence over my culinary life.

  3. Susan from Nebraska says:

    I would got for just about anything from Jerry every month until my birthday for this month I am missing in Australia!!! I have been telling him he really owes me big time and the people who are taking care of me. A trip to London with you and Steve on the way to the orphanage in Nairobi wouldn’t be a bad payback!!!

  4. bolovesjoe says:

    Wow – Chris – I feel so POWERFUL! Let’s share soup soon!

    Susan: I’ve been praying for you and I hope you’re feeling better every day. Not being able to go to Australia has earned you many gifts indeed. 🙂 Love you!

Leave a Reply

