When You Just Get Sick of Losing

Posted: July 26, 2009 in Uncategorized

For the past week, I have spent every day in the story and Song of Deborah. The story is pretty short, but when combined with some treasure out of history and the amazing stuff woven into the song, a full picture takes shape and gives clear detail on who and what I want to be. Exactly who and exactly what I want to be. I’m going to try to tackle my thoughts on this and wrestle them onto the page and I’m doing it for me – so that I will not let truth go undiscovered. If you want to come along for the ride, I’d love the company. Here’s part 1of who-really-knows-how-many parts:

First amazing fact: Deborah is given the distinction of being both a prophet and a judge. That may not seem like a big deal, but the only other person so labeled is Samuel. There is no getting around the fact that this woman is among the spiritual elite – not just in Israel – but in history. She’s a woman who finds purpose and peace (in her “office” under a palm tree – sign me up!) in the middle of a nation that is lost in sin and oppressed by a cruel enemy. No one could have blamed Deborah for using her gender or her government’s issues as a reason to stay hidden and helpless – we’ll soon see that’s exactly what the men were doing – but she didn’t. She couldn’t. She was called to more and I’m guessing that awareness haunted her and chased her down until she said yes to it.

We live in exactly the same kind of situation. Conflict is spinning in from every direction. Our government is a mess. Our country has forsaken Jesus. People are frustrated at the Church. We have become a nation of hiders and in this landscape, it’s easy to build our vision around survival. Keep our heads down, our bills paid and stay under the radar. We’ve become so much like Barak and I’m tired of it. I’m tired of believing for the crumbs under the table. I mean, I’ll take them, but I also want what’s up on the platters and in the bowls and fresh out of the oven. I want more than my country is finding. I want more than the American church is experiencing. I want to believe that I can hear His voice clearly and be used by Him to stage a big win.

So, quick question: In the middle of a country in crisis, is it possible for women of God to find a place that is smack dab in the middle of His call for their lives? Is it possible to live out Plan A for my life while living under a government (or marriage or job or financial situation) that moved on to Plan B a long time ago? After a week in Judges 4 & 5, I’m absolutely convinced that I can. So can you. And I’m becoming certain that it’s possible for one woman living out God’s dreams for her life, to wake up a whole nation in the process.

I really want to be Deborah.

Comments
  1. Annie K says:

    I think NOW is the best time for us to heed God’s call. I happen to be working on an idea and project that I feel God has been stirring inside me for a long while, but wasn’t really sure how to go about it.

    Slowly some things are happening, but it’s scary because it could make me ‘step out of the boat’ and I’ve never really taken the proverbial ‘walk on water’.

    Perhaps what this world needs is a bunch of women all fired up and believing that God can make anything happen no matter what Plan B is – because God’s Plan A is all that really matters!

  2. Sarah says:

    This was an awesome post! I love Deborah and I, too, want to BE her! Quite sick of all the settling happening around me. Want to look back one day and know I really LIVED. Not settled.
    I will go back and read about Deborah today.

  3. bolovesjoe says:

    Annie – I’m excited about WHATEVER God is leading you into…it’ll be good. Seriously, let’s LUNCH ASAP. I’m going on vacation next week but the week after that would be fantastic for me. 🙂

    Sarah – can’t WAIT to see you next week. I feel like I deserve some uninterrupted Sarah time – we’ll see how your little ones feel about that! 🙂

  4. Annie K says:

    Sounds good. I’ll stick it on my calendar to email you!

Leave a Reply

