Buy this Book! Buy this Book! (But only if you want to)

Posted: June 22, 2009 in Uncategorized

Okay, maybe you have your devotional life figured out and clipping along exactly where you like it. If, however, you’re like me and like to shake things up sometimes, I highly recommend this book:

Solo

I love, love to study the Word and I know that I’ll always make time for it. However, sometimes I find that I can get so caught in the ditches of the Greek and Hebrew and untangling a first person singular imperative participle that I am not investing as much as I need to in the encounter that the Word is meant to create.

This devotional is built around an ancient monastic devotional practice called lectio divina. It takes a relatively small passage of scripture and uses those words to connect our heart to God’s and our ears to His voice. Some days, you will read the passage four or five times, sometimes you’ll be instructed to read it out loud and pick out the words that really resonate, sometimes you will be asked to assume the posture you think the writer may have chosen to better understand the impact of the moment. Here’s an inside sample (the opposite page has the passage written out). I loved this day and God spoke some very real and personal things to me about the importance of wrestling and walking:

Solo inside

I love how many times in the book it will ask a question and then add “Don’t answer quickly, wait for God to speak.” I need those reminders to move beyond my head and into His heart. If you are a quantity person and don’t feel like you’ve met with God until you’ve read three chapters, then this one definitely is not for you. But if you’d like to focus more on absorbing the Word into the fabric of your life and on active conversation with God – even just for the summer – then I think you’ll like Solo.

Enjoying the Encounter,

Bo

P.S.  This week I’m starting the Love Dare online bible study through Westside and I’m so excited!   I”m planning to keep you posted on how it goes and you can’t stop me!

Comments
  1. Joe says:

    I bought this back in January. Hecka good!! Sorry for the California slang… : )

  2. bolovesjoe says:

    Ha! Joe, if you’ll remember, I work with teenagers in the Unemployed Snowboarder capital of the world…slang doesn’t throw me so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

