Stuff I Love for Summer:Words

Posted: June 11, 2009 in Uncategorized

1. Take one of these

long island iced tea

2. Find one of these:

Deck chair

3. Add in one of these:

Plain Truth Book

I love Jodi Picoult’s books. They’re fast-paced and unpredictable but not necessarily for the faint-of-heart.

Sweetness to the SoulOh, dear. I still remember the first time I read this book. I stayed up late reading it in bed while Steve was trying to sleep through my heaving sobs. Seriously, it’s amazing. I know I just made it sound terribly sad – and it kind of is…but it’s a worth it sad, you know? I love Jane Kirkpatrick’s work in ways that I cannot articulate. I heard her speak once and was concerned I might become her stalker fan if I didn’t start to develop some hobbies or something. If you haven’t read her, I insist that you buy a Kirkpatrick book immediately. I’ll make the iced tea and you can read it on my deck. Hail umbrellas provided. (Oh, Bend humor.)

So, those are some favorites I’ve read and here’s what I’m excited to read this summer:

The Missionary book cover

My friend, Bill Carmichael, wrote this book and it’s zooming it’s way up the Amazon charts. It looks intense and I’m ready for intense. You can’t even stop me from the intensity because I am just that ready. And just that intense.

Okay…enough silliness. Oh wait! Here’s another thing I love to read and to which I just subscribed:

Food network magazine

Yay, words! I have a few openings in my reading schedule…anyone care to offer a suggestion for a great summer read?

Long live the written word!

Bo

Comments
  1. What a delight to read your blog and see A Sweetness to the Soul in the same column as a Jodi Picoult novel! Made my day! I especially like it that YOU read SWEETNESS while in bed with your husband because that’s where I read books (not in bed with your husband but with mine:) I have a friend who orders signed copies of that book whenever she gets a wedding invitation and she has me write the names of the bride and groom, the wedding date and a notation I add which is usually “to be read out loud to each other.”
    Thanks so much for including me in one of your good readings. Warmly, Jane

  2. ci says:

    Wow…A Sweetness to the Soul. I well remember the first time reading it through. Incredible writing. I kept rereading paragraphs just to hear, see and feel how she made the words and emotions come alive. I’d love to take you up on the tea, book, and comfy chair on your deck!

  3. Arlene Hiatt says:

    The ice tea … the chair on the deck … a good book … my idea of a wonderful day! I love Jodi Pecoult books… have never read Jane Kirkpatrick but am on my way to purchase the book above!!!

  4. bolovesjoe says:

    Well goodness…dear Jane Kirkpatrick: you are a treasure and your comment made MY day! Thank you for your gracious words, your amazing books and now I promise not to be your stalker fan!

    Cher: my deck is always open. Oh goodness, how fun would THAT be to just READ together for a few days? Too fun!

    Arlene – my next favorite Kirkpatrick book is All Together in One Place. Also, I may get to see you in August because Steve is cookin’ up a trip to the cornhusker state! Much love!

  5. Forsaken College Daughter says:

    Couple things:
    A) There is nothing like Mom’s iced tea.
    2) I miss our deck soooo much.
    Tio) Books to ruin your life this summer:
    -Before We Kill and Eat You by Henry Garlock. This surprisingly light hearted auto biography of a young missionary in the African Interior, in a time when no missionary was left alone until they’d survived their first bout with malaria, will remind you that man is small, God is big, and His adventure is more than we can handle; that’s how we know it’s His.
    -Love Walked In by Marissa de los Santos. I’ve recommended this book to countless friends and strangers. It is and will always be fantastic.
    D) Me and Taylor’s favorite thing to do is read together…well next to each other. It seems we get that from our mothers.:)
    5) I’ll read Jane Kirkpatrick if you watch Star Trek with me(I’ve decided Heroes is too gory for you).

  6. bolovesjoe says:

    Tori Stern, you are a funny, funny girl. And I miss you.

    That’s all.

  7. Forsaken College Daughter Who Wishes She Lived At Home Right Now says:

    Does that mean no Star Trek.:(

Leave a Reply

