Stuff I Love for Summer: A Well-Dressed Picnic

Posted: June 10, 2009 in Uncategorized

Please will you tell me how anyone could look at this and not feel a heart full of love and goodwill toward mankind? And quite possibly a craving for pink lemonade and potato salad?

gingham-picnic-basket-de-74713695

Every year, I collect more gingham for my picnic table’s wardrobe. I always buy red (but I think this yellow is awfully wonderful) and I never buy real tablecloths…just big remnants of fabric that I pile on top of each other in a big summer party of happy. Whenever I use them, I feel like one of the following, depending on my mood:

A) June Cleaver (I think she would have liked my shoes.)

B) Maryann from Gilligan’s Island

C) Mrs. Cunningham. Does anyone remember Mrs. Cunningham? Name that TV show and I’ll share my Mighty Magic Minis with you.

What can I say? I’m a child of the 70’s. If you’re also a bit of a throwback, please feast your eyes on these amazing vintage tablecloths.

Thinking our picnics might be better without inches of hail,

Bo

Comments
  1. Aïda says:

    Happy Days!!! Those Mini’s sure looked good!

  2. bolovesjoe says:

    Aida! I knew I could count on you to recognize a cultural icon – I loved Howard and Marion Cunningham almost as much as I loved Richie. I owe you a mini! 🙂

  3. Tracy says:

    Never missed an episode!

  4. Helen says:

    I heart vintage tablecloths…especially the ones with fruit on them…I have scored a few for pennies…one that has tulips on it that I love…

    Carl made me a picnic table and benches for mother’s day…so I feel like is always just a picnic away.

    Happy Summer!

  5. Forsaken College Daughter Who Wishes She Lived At Home Right Now says:

    I remember the Mighty Magic Mini Madness. And I was just thinking today about how much I loved my graduation party.:)
    When you said Mrs. Cunningham I thought of Mrs. Landingham, poor Mrs. Landingham!:(

Leave a Reply

