Stuff I Love for Summer: Color

Posted: June 8, 2009 in Uncategorized

NiveaSunkissedShave

I know for those of you who walk through your summers as the bronzed goddess you were born to be, this is going to seem silly.  For me, however, for whom every single gene in the pool is pasty white, I love this stuff.  It goes on evenly and is really easy to maintain.  Also, it was named “least smelly self-tanner” by some beauty blog and so – kudos, Nivea!

So be honest:  are you a sun tanner or a self tanner?  Part 2:  how much do you worry about the sun damaging your skin?

Loving summer more than I love sun,

Bo

Comments
  1. Thanks for the info, Bo! I have been wondering what products out there are good and esp. go on evenly. This lotion might be cheaper than buying sunglasses to hand out to everyone i walk by. I need help! And i don’t want skin damage – not that the sun helps anyway, all i do is burn and then go back to white. My kids have both been darker at infancy on up than i’ve ever been in my entire life.

  2. I never used to care a bit about sun damage… Until 2 years ago when my 23 year old sister (with olive complexion that never burns) was diagnosed with stage 3 melanoma. On her back- in a spot that is always covered by clothes. That’s when we found out that the sun is so powerful it can damage your skin through material. Now I think about it a lot. In fact, just last night one of my small group girls (junior in high school) was talking about how she had been to the tanning bed that day (about a million times worse than the real sun) and I gave her a mini lecture about the dangers. And she informed me that I was way too paranoid and that she was not going to get cancer (famous last words right?)
    And so – for my inevitably pastey child- (that should be here in less than 8 weeks by the way.. Glory!) I have already purchased a rashgaurd (swimming shirt) that is made out of SPF material and 100% UV protection infant sunglasses (she’s going to be quite attractive by the pool in Mexico in January huh?)
    All that to say… Way to fake the tan!! Your dermatologist must be so proud! (who, by the way, you should be seeing once a year to check for pre-cancer cells….)

  3. bolovesjoe says:

    Haha! Heather, I loved that comment! I hadn’t considered gifting everyone with sunglasses…perhaps next year. My kids tan so easily…even Tess gets tan after her first big burn. I really don’t love lying in the sun and I watched my grandma go through so many skin cancer scares from all her time in Mexico, that it just seems not worth it to me. Especially when $7 is going to last me all season long. 🙂

  4. bolovesjoe says:

    And Kristin – by the time your little beauty is about 12 years old, you’ll want to cover her up at the pool for about a million other reasons! That’s great information and I wish more people would take it seriously. 8 weeks….yes, Glory!

Leave a Reply

