A Page from the Journal: Showing Up

Posted: June 7, 2009 in Uncategorized

From my journal last July – but it perfectly mirrored my feelings this morning:

Hosea 6:3 As sure as dawn breaks, so sure is His daily arrival. He comes as rain comes, as spring rain refreshing the ground.

As sure as dawn breaks. How sure is that? Completely. Utterly. Unbreakably sure. The dawn doesn’t depend on circumstances or emotions to show up. It doesn’t wring it’s hands, wondering if there will be a new day today. Just as rhythm is mathematical, dawn is sure. Just as gravity assures me that the apple will fall from the tree rather than rising into the heavens, dawn will show up. That’s how steady and strong the presence of God can be in my life. He shows up. He’s here waiting every morning…on the mornings I feel Him, and the mornings I don’t. Any moving or shifting is always me.

Oh, I SO want to become more like Him in this. I want to be more faithful in general with people and with the world, but first I want to get it right with Him. I want Him to be able to say, “As sure as morning comes, so will Bo.” It’s not about laws or rules or legalism or any of the things we say to try to excuse ourselves from stuff we don’t feel like doing. It’s life and it’s real and pulsing with possibility. Lately, I’ve had to keep reminding myself that the morning meeting is important. I’ve had to work at making it a priority and at truly engaging when I’m here…but I’m not budging from this committment. I know that this is the way that I’m going to live. I know that it’s what works for me.

Now, almost one year later (and two years into this commitment), I can say with confidence that making His presence the priority of my day is still the thing that works. It works for emotional stability, for creating and maintaining joy, for living in love with those around me, for gaining strength to let go of the ones I most want to hold onto and for holding onto the ones I sometimes want to let go of. It just works.

Oh, how GREAT is His goodness to those who just simply show up.

Love, love, love,

Bo

P.S. You may remember this post from last year which was inspired by the journal entry above.

Comments
  1. ELizabeth McColl says:

    Thank you, Bo, for reminding me that although I know that when I feel far from God, guess who moved……? God is here whether or not I “feel” God – I know that, for sure and certain, but I am encouraged that you have reminded me of this FACT.
    The presence of God can be steady and strong….getting it right with Him is always the first priority ……I know that but somehow I can so easily out others before….and then get upset when they don’t come through for me….not to mention how I don’t come through with them.

    Thanks for the encouragement to spur one another on to love and good deeds….

Leave a Reply

