Rain on the Roof

Posted: May 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

This past weekend I had the joy of speaking to the state contingency of Assembly of God women as they met together for their conference at Bethel Church in Medford, Oregon. Such a dynamic and READY group…oh, it was sheer DELIGHT to be with them and share the Word together. Joy, I tell you!
So, not only were the ladies extraordinary, the worship phenomenal, the prayer anointed and the food outrageous, (as if all that wasn’t enough to send a girl into a love coma) I also had the cutest and most incredible CHAUFFEUR I have ever seen! Yes, my beloved was able to go with me this time and we even stayed an extra night just to soak up a little couple time. I was done with conference stuff by 4:00 on Saturday and we had so much fun taking a nap, spying out a new restaurant, watching a movie and just being together without kids. Marvelous.

I generally have a hard time sleeping in hotels. But last night when I fell into bed, rain was just starting to fall. Had I been alone it would have felt lonely, but since Steve was there with me it was totally comforting and cozy. Isn’t that funny how circumstances can so easily steer our emotions? I actually have nothing more profound to say about that. It’s just interesting.

So, in 10 days I will conclude the busiest 40 days of my life. It’s been remarkable and I wish I had time to tell you how much has happened and how faithful our Jesus has been through this season of sickness and stress and much, much speaking. His love and faithfulness has just been outrageous to me and I’m so thankful to Him.

Again, nothing more profound to say except I am also so SO thankful for you.

Wishing everyone someone with whom to share the rain,

Bo

Comments
  1. Haha, it is funny how circumstances change our emotions. You, a happily married woman of 24 years, find the sound of rain lonely as it only highlights your solitude. While I, a very contented single girl of 19(yes!), love the rain as it serves to catalyst my solitude. In solitude, I don’t have to impress anyone or wonder how people take what I said or conger up something clever every time I open my mouth. I can just be. I say things to myself(or Jesus). And I think little clever things to myself(or Jesus). So when the rain comes, it’s also comforting and cozy–but more so when my roommates gone.:) If the rain isn’t there–a problem I NEVER have having left my unknowingly beloved desert–I make my own solitude with dinner and a movie alone. Honestly, the most relaxing thing I do.

    Love you millions,
    Tor

  2. Wow, Tori – You are awesome. And you put your perspective vs your mom’s so well. You are so comfortable with yourself and your relationship to the Lord and that will keep you from feeling lonely. BUT once you have let someone into that solitude and you share just as deeply with that someone, when they are gone there is a loneliness that relates more to – something just isn’t right with my world – kind of loneliness. Jerry is gone for 12 days and I never sleep well when he is gone. I totally relate to your mom, my sister-in-law, but I have begun feeling something I never have felt before in my life – and that is – freedom, to do what I want to do when I want to do it. And I think I like it – once in a while!!! I used to hate the trade off of Jerry being gone for a little freedom, but I seem to enjoy it more than I used to!!! But rain would make me feel lonely!!!!!
    Love you guys- hope to see you soon!

  3. Katie says:

    Um, yes please to your wish. Congrats on making it through (well, almost) the most crazy schedule ever without an administrative assistant! That is the real victory. πŸ™‚ I knew you could do it.

    Suckling pig?

    Katie

  4. bolovesjoe says:

    Tori – I like your perspective and I sometimes even share it. Sometimes I do find solitude SO beautiful.

    Sue – your comment made me miss you all over again. I’m free next Thursday, wanna meet for coffee? Somewhere centrally located like…Colorado. πŸ™‚

    Katie – I will change my wish to an actual, fervent PRAYER. πŸ™‚ Honestly, you have no idea how much I miss your presence in my little life right now. Argh. Trying to keep schedules and maps and notes straight has been challenging (as you can well imagine since you know how I deal with this stuff.) And also – I totally stood someone up the other day. My day off and the server at home was down so I couldn’t check Outlook and no Katie to remind me and so I left someone sitting at Thump with no meeting. 😦 Dumb.

  5. bolovesjoe says:

    Wow – me and the emoticons are all over it today! πŸ™‚ 😦 πŸ™‚

  6. Katie says:

    Rats, it didn’t. 😦

  7. Katie says:

    Wait until you learn the rockfist! πŸ™‚ \m/ (I don’t know if it will actually work on here.)

Leave a Reply

