Countdown to Easter: 10

Posted: April 2, 2009 in Uncategorized

I cannot adequately express my love for the Word of God.  It is nearly everything to me.  But I live in a world that continually questions its authenticity.  Even many in the American church have tossed the truth aside and denied the absolute inerrancy of the Holy Scripts.

Please understand:  without the resurrection, we have no ground to stand on in our faith.  Without the resurrection, Jesus was not who we say He is.  Without the resurrection, my sins are still with me, my hurts are unhealed and my future is the grave.  The cross is beautiful.  It shows a wonderful man who taught wonderful things, dying for crimes he didn’t commit.  But without the resurrection, the cross is just a sad story of love and loss.   Without the resurrection, we have nothing.  And without the inerrant Word of God, we have no resurrection.  So even though I love the Word, I regularly go back to the research and reasons that I know for certain that it’s true.  I build my facts which build my faith which renews my love for Him all over again.

Lee Strobel is one of my favorite apologists (defender of the faith) and he produced an excellent series of videos called “A Case for Christ”.  They’re beautifully done and very compelling – and they contain boatloads of facts about why Jesus is the son of God who takes away the sins of the world.  They are a little cerebral, but stick with it because these facts will build a foundation that will make your Easter Sunday come ALIVE!  I’m posting number 2 (of 7), but you can find them all on You Tube and they’re  just fantastic.

My favorite part of this clip are the words of the historian, Josephus.

“Now there was about this time, Jesus, a wise man for He was a doer of wonderful works.  A teacher of such men as received the truth with pleasure.  He drew over to Him both many of the Jews an many of the Gentiles.  When Pilate – at the suggestion of the principle men amongst us – had condemned Him to the cross, those that loved Him first did not forsake Him and the tribe of Christians so named for Him are not extinct to this day.”

No.  Not extinct.  Alive and real – just like the One whose name we wear.

In awe of such love,

Bo

Comments
  1. Mekenzie says:

    Oh Bo, that last sentence…powerful and wonderful and true. Thank you for that on this wonderful Saturday!

Leave a Reply

