A Page from the Journal: The Wonder of the Wilderness

Posted: March 14, 2009 in Uncategorized

Deuteronomy 1:19 And when we departed from Horeb, we went through all that great and terrible wilderness which you saw on the way to the hill country of the Amorites, as the Lord our God commanded us…

1:31 And in the wilderness, where you have seen how the Lord your God bore you, as a man carries his son, in all the way that you went until you came to this place.

I’ve discovered that the wilderness is the place where I struggle with fear the most, probably more even then in actual battle.  It’s this place in between where we were and where we’re going. No man’s land.  But over and over I’m seeing that God is especially tender in the wilderness.  He carries and comforts ”all the way”.

Sometimes I have imagined God launching me out of the safety of Mt. Horeb by pointing me in the direction of Canaan saying, “See you when you get there!”   But He’s not like that.   He packs the bags and gathers the supplies and wakes us up early in the morning to put us in the car – maybe still in our pajamas – and He kisses us on the head and gets behind the wheel because we’re going on a road trip and He’s the only one who knows the way.  And we’ll make stops at restaurants and gas stations and they will serve their purpose but they will not be home.  And when we get tired and cranky and frustrated with our lack of landing, He will comfort us with pictures of our destination. It will be good when we get there.

The journey will be done.  The house will be warm.  Our beds will be soft.

Home.

So, Jesus, I give you my wilderness and my final destination.   My journey, my suitcase and my walking stick.  All that I have is yours and I am so thankful to know that all You have is mine.   I ask for resources along the way and enough light to illumine my step and quicken my heart.  I want to love this walk with You.  I want to treasure the loneliness that leads me to new depths of friendship with You.  I want to bask in the silence that causes Your voice to be especially clear and beautiful when I hear it.

Oh, how I love You today and tomorrow and all days forever.

Amen.

Comments
  1. Tara says:

    I started reading A.W.Tozer’s, The Root of the Righteous. You were right, absolutely amazing. Especially the essay ” The Wildness of the Wilderness.” Your post just reminded me to say thank you.
    Love you!
    I’ll be home for my birthday in April, hope I get to see you!

  2. bolovesjoe says:

    Oh…the Root of the Righteous…amazing stuff. I probably mentioned that The Hunger of the Wilderness helped defined my love for youth ministry. Actually Pastor Wendell Smith gave it to me when I was in college and I carried it around in my bible until it was so tattered it was unreadable.

    I’m glad you’re coming in April – I’d love to see you too!

  3. ci says:

    Such grand truth to be reminded of…it made me cry.

  4. I love this post- It is totally the way I picture our Father. His tenderness is way too understated, sometimes. This also evokes the memory of my own parents loading us in the car for such adventures- the excitement of the destination, the pain in getting there…”she’s touching me” “I’m not touching her!” “she started it!” No wonder God wanted to stop the car and make everyone get out and walk…

  5. Jenna says:

    Bo,
    I am certainly, “treasuring the loneliness that leads me to new depths of friendship” with God these days. I am learning to love the walk and delight in the company even when I am lead in places I do not know. Nothing like being all alone in the middle of Africa (am I this week) to make me realize how small I am and how BIG God is. I am so happy he sees my journey from up above, out in the distance, and chooses to walk today with little me down here in this village. Thanks for your words, they always stir me. Love you.

Leave a Reply

