This Post Brought to You by the Spindly Fingers of Old Man Winter

Posted: March 10, 2009 in Uncategorized

I didn’t want to do it.  I did not want to spend money on this purchase and here – in no particular order – are my well-reasoned reasons:

  • Winter is certainly, definitely, undoubtedly over, right?
  • We’re in a recession and this is money that could go toward other important things like lattes and lottery tickets.
  • There is an outside, low-lying, fringe-dwelling chance that I will one day – before the end of the cold weather – learn how to park my car in the garage as God intended it.
  • It’s really more of a luxury item  (because using it feels almost exactly like a seaweed body wrap at the spa).

Still, I did it.  I caved to the pressure of the weather and  I bought this guy:

ice-scraper

And here’s why:

  • It was 21-degrees yesterday morning.
  • It was 24-degrees this morning.
  • I would like to keep my fingers solidly attached to the rest of my hand and my current scraping devices did not assist me in reaching that goal:

compact_disc

So, I’d like to thank my friends the Dollar Tree, our local meteorologist and a sense of deep hopelessness for this new acquisition.

What have you spent money on recently that you didn’t want to?

Not-quite-frozen Bo

Comments
  1. Hmm…I hesitate to share this, since it is so very personal. But I was so inspired by your transparency, I feel I must follow your lead:
    I bought Curel lotion for (a moment of silence, please) Menopause and Beyond.
    I know. You’re thinking I must have bought it for my mother, right? The sad truth is I am the sad recipient of this magic elixir. There are times in life when you must fight, and there are times when you must acquiesce to the inevitable. I’m there. I can lie to myself, but my skin knows the truth. (My husband reached for the lotion one day, only to recoil in horror upon reading the label. I don’t know what he thought would happen if he used it!)

  2. Bo says:

    Oh Chris my friend, funniest comment I’ve read in a long, long time. And I can so clearly see Joe’s face that it just makes me laugh and laugh…

  3. Annie K says:

    I refuse to use one of those (hey, I’ve got kids and I’m not afraid to put them to good use) so either the kids are out there warming up the car…or it runs in the driveway for like 26 minutes so all the ice can melt off. Seriously.

    And go figure…I just did a post about how I’m usually dreaming about and planning the Mexico trip right now and all I want to do is be out in the woods in a cabin enjoying the wood fire. I need prayer or something. It’s not right…

  4. I lost $80 in Vegas – and I most certainly didn’t want to – I wanted to WIN $80 in Vegas.
    This is the first time in 4 years (and 4 trips) to Vegas that I came home a loser and not a winner 😦
    I blame the slots – no one wins at slots – that was a bad choice. I could have bought like 6 cute baby outfits for $80!

  5. Tara says:

    I bought a tanning package this month.Vanity of vanities for a fair skinned red(ish) headed girl. Its so cold and the traditionally white skin of a Seattle-ite was starting to get depressing. I have freckles again! Glory!

Leave a Reply

