Accountability and Why I NEED it

Posted: January 30, 2009 in Uncategorized

Friday is my day off. It’s a delicious day where I tend to spend a lot of time doing a lot of…um…nothing. I really absolutely cannot afford that aberrant behavior right now, so here’s my to do list and I’m authorizing you – any and all of you – to hold me accountable.

1) Laundry. Piles and piles of laundry. Which leads me to…

2) BUY laundry soap.

3) I have a significant number of projects stacked up and waiting and hoping that someday, someone will care about them. Mostly writing projects that aren’t as fun as blogging and also cleaning projects that aren’t as fun as oral surgery, but must be done. So, it’s time to knuckle under, sit up straight,  mind my p’s & q’s (shout-out, Tori!) and make some progress ASAP!

4) The lovely Taylor is getting married to the handsome Jesse tonight and those people need a wedding gift! I’m thinking a heart-shaped waffle iron, yes?

5) Families deserve a good dinner on a chilly Friday, don’t they? I’m pretty sure that’s somewhere in the constitution or the city charter or something. I currently have NO earthly idea what that this “good dinner” may consist of, but now that the idea of waffles is planted in my brain, it’s going to be a tough one to break.

You know what I need? I need this:
tatt-1630

But since I don’t have that, I’m going to just tattoo my list right here on my blog for the world to see and know and harass me about in the future.

Thanks for your support,

Bo

P.S.   I’d feel better if  I wasn’t the only one forsaking the pursuit of nothingness.  What’s on your list today?

Comments
  1. The wonderful thing about having the flu (it’s a stretch to find anything wonderful about it…) is that you get to forsake your to-do list… which leads to…
    ONE of the terrible things about having the flu is that your to-do list is longer and more pressing by the time you are feeling better.

    So my to-do list for today is:
    -clean my kitchen
    -throw up and/or sleep
    -throw dinner for Luke in a crockpot
    -throw up and/or sleep
    -take tylenol to keep the fever down so that my poor baby doesn’t boil in it’s amniotic fluid.
    -throw up and/or sleep

    wanna trade?

  2. Lindsay Joy says:

    You asked for it Bo:
    – Do Gina’s hair for the wedding
    – find dress (notice the find and not the buy…)
    -pick up contacts
    -buy a puppy training book (Bruno is a biter and my fingers
    can’t take it anymore!)
    -pick up our other car at it’s other house, the church

    And I have to do all of this before 6:00 tonight! Oh the joy of having Fridays off : )

    Also, if you could be reading any book in the world right now, what would it be? I just finished Crazy Love by Francis Chan and I’m hankering for a good one.

    Love you Bo!
    Lindsay

  3. Hey Bo…

    Today I have given myself permission to do nothing…one of my points of interest this year is rest…and to be okay with giving myself permission to take the time to recharge…I am an introvert after all…

    Although with the reality that my “nothing” today will consist of a sprinkling of folding clothes, dusting a few surfaces, tackling the latreen…ugh and planning meals for the next week…I am spending plenty of time in the Word…just did a word study for one of my words in the Esther study…I want to spend some time reading…and I will also be praying through out the day as Courtney is at the Generation Unleashed conference as I type…I also plan to play as many games as Caleb wants and that includes Candyland and I won’t even pray for the Queen Frostine card…now that is self-less living at its finest…ha!

    I am hoping to sneak in a dvd of some movie I have watched a zillion times…just because!

    Have a blessed day dear Bo…

  4. Tara says:

    Homework.
    Study.
    Go buy Valentines stuff for my kids at work.
    Find arts and crafts projects to do with those same kids.
    Get gas and check oil.
    Balance my check book.
    Go to work.
    More homework.
    Maybe hang out with friends?
    Email Bo:-)
    Update my blog-if only there was time

  5. Jess Stern says:

    Ha ha! You’re funny, Bo! Boy, if I put my to-do list up it would be forever long. Ditto on the laundry though. With 4 women in this house, two of which stain their clothes regularly, I can’t seem to keep up with it. AHHHHH!

  6. Jen Hoffmann says:

    Well… that present for those two precious people is at the top of my list right at this moment…and instead…I sit reading blogs. Guess I need accountability too 🙂
    But now I’m totally bummed, because a heart waffle iron so beats any good ideas I had for a gift (which consisted of 1. gift card and 2…ummmm…gift card. Darn it. Heart shaped waffle iron. Good call!

Leave a Reply

