Advice from the Mom who Never had a Camera

Posted: January 22, 2009 in Uncategorized

siblings-edited_edited-1One thing I would like people to know about me is that I have LOVED being a mom.  I mean, it took me a long time to get there – but when I did, I fell pretty hard.

I was really young when Whit was born…young enough to not really understand what I had signed up for into until it was way too late.  A good, solid eight weeks after she arrived, I was still resenting her projectile vomiting and 3 am neediness.  Finally frustrated with my own wretched whining, I went to my room and cried out to God to change my heart.  “You made me a mom,” I sobbed, “please help me enjoy it.”  And I don’t know all that God heard from the heart of a desperate 21-year-old, but I do know what He did.  Within 24 hours, I was hopelessly and utterly in love with that little girl.  Truth be told, I’m still pretty crazy about that girl.

Three more came after Whitney and each one was beautiful – dare I say – perfect?  I really just cherish what I remember about being the mom of  little, tiny Victoria (she was only 5 pounds when she was born – Steve was afraid to hold her for fear of breaking something), red-headed Tess (everyone said “Oh, that hair will change to blonde…you just wait.”  They were dead wrong and I’m SO glad) and amazingly handsome Josiah (whose very appearance on the planet was nothing short of miraculous).  Seriously, I loved those years, but I have one significant regret and it’s that I didn’t document them.  We broke and lost cameras…or we forgot to get them out and actually take pictures of vacations and birthdays and first days of school.  My journaling about their events and acheivements was hit-and-miss…I got too caught up in the “doing” of everyday life and I forgot to record the moments.  I just didn’t realize that some day each one of those toothless smiles and mismatched outfits and spaghetti sauced faces would mean so much to me.

So, today, I was doing the blog rounds and ran into this idea by my niece-in-law, Jess Stern.  She lives in St. Louis and is a fantastic mom with amazingly creative ideas on capturing and maintaining the big and little moments of her girls’ lives.   Her idea for this year is unique and beautiful – but more than that, it’s just wise and responsible.  She’s taking the gold that God has given her in these little women and keeping it in a safe place, so she can see it and remember how good He’s been. Check it out here and let me know what you’re doing to steward the memories of your family’s milestones.

Thankful for kids, cameras and smart relatives,

Bo

Comments
  1. Karen says:

    Bo, thank you for transparently sharing your heart. We experienced moms do need to share the frustrations and failures we experienced along the way, and the evidence of God’s faithfulness to us and to our children.

    I’ve shared this with a couple young moms I know, and as a soon to be grandmother I think it’s a terrific way to save memories. I don’t have the time, skill, or money to do scrapbooking, but I LOVE blogging and it’s basically free!

  2. Jess Stern says:

    Hey Bo! Great entry. Thanks for the shout-out. 🙂 The past couple weeks doing the project 365 I have noticed that every-day life it pretty interesting. Makes me value every day a bit more. Even though most of the layouts will revolve around my kids since that is my world right now, it’s a good thing because as you said, they are gold.

    On another note, I’m really wishing more and more that we lived closer. I have a feeling we would be great friends! 🙂

  3. Joseph Garibay says:

    …and thank God for friends who do have cameras and take pictures of their daughter shooting guns for the first time! : )

  4. bolovesjoe says:

    Thanks, Karen – it’s funny to think of myself as an “experienced” mom. I still feel like my kids are young…even though they’re grownups. 😦 Maybe because I DO have a littleish one still…

    Jess – goodness, I totally agree…let’s see what we can do about pushing our two states a little closer, yes?

    Joe – yes, I’ve certainly been thanking God that there is photographic evidence that a Stern woman shot a gun and lived to tell the story. And so did all the people around her.

  5. Joseph Garibay says:

    Did i forget to mention there’s also video evidence? I’m thinkin that should find its way to Facebook…soon!

Leave a Reply

