Things that were great (and not-so-great) in 2008

Posted: January 1, 2009 in Uncategorized

Most annoying developments in 2008:

  • The outrageous price of gas
  • Conversations about the outrageous price of gas
  • Political campaign commercials
  • Spiraling economy
  • And for sure at the very tip top of the list:  THE BAILOUT!

My secret fascinations in 2008:

  • Facebook (i.e. the selling of my soul to virtual community)
  • http://www.epicurious.com
  • the life of Britney Spears
  • Finding old books on Ebay
  • Christian television (we got Direct TV and there are no less than one million religious stations and….wow.  Wow, wow.  That’s all I’ve got to say on that.)

Things I’m hopeful for in 2009:

  • The start of a resolution to the war.
  • The beginnings of a turnaround in our economy.
  • The chance to send an orphan (or 10!) to college.
  • Weight loss = 15 pounds.  Keep me accountable, people!
  • And if none of these things happen, I’m hopeful for unshakable joy in the midst of it all.

Well, that’s not that big of a list, is it?   Fewer pounds, world peace and a booming job market…easy peasy!  Note to self: pray for the President more.

My Unofficial 2009 Resolutions:

  • Exercise more
  • Worry less
  • Fast more
  • Eat less
  • Love more
  • Criticize less
  • Give more
  • Live with less
  • Write more
  • Talk less
  • Dream more
  • Settle less
  • Pray more
  • Pray more
  • Pray more

Seriously, I am so excited about 2009 and all that’s to come.  I know things are shaky in our world, but I’m seeing God prove Himself stronger, better, bolder and smarter than any government, crisis, or economy.  I love the words of Paul when he surveyed the evil reign of Nero, the persecution of  Christians all around him, the condition of his own freedom and said:  “I am not ashamed, for I know Whom I have believed, and am convinced that He is able to guard what I’ve entrusted to Him for that day.”  2 Timothy 1:12

2009?  Bring it on!

Bo

Comments
  1. Anne says:

    That is an awesome ‘unofficial’ list Bo (although I’m still trying to figure out where you could be hiding the 15lbs? I have not seen it). Happy New Year! 😉

  2. Tracy says:

    ok…just sent you an email to a stupid little accountability thing…I call it stupid cause I had committing to getting healthy, I can’t stand to see myself fail…but I’m doing this one cause my best friend of all time aske me too. I’ll feel better if you join us!
    That’s all…

  3. joe says:

    We’ve decided that if you want us to keep you accountable, we should have lunch somewhere else tomorrow. You know, like one of those healthy organic places! (something PF Changs is not) : )

  4. Bo says:

    Thanks, Anne – I think that I’ve run out of places to hide, though, so I’m going to need to actually lose it. 🙂 Tracy – I’m checking it out right now!

    Joe – Nooooooo! Steve and I are starting a fast on Tuesday and I want to have PFC as my one last, beautiful memory. As soon as Monday comes, however, this is exactly the kind of accountability I’m looking for so keep up the good work!

  5. I also have pray, pray, pray on my list. And listen, listen, listen and expect and expect…….etc. I do believe if I pray and listen and expect I will see more answers to those prayers than I ever have before.

  6. Ann Dunagan says:

    Hi Bo!

    I like your 2009 list. I need to lose 15 lbs. too . . . and pray and fast more, so feel free to check up on me and let me know your progress.

    Happy New Year to you and yours!
    Ann

  7. […] better to shoot at something then nothing and so I make them every year.  Last year I posted this list and yesterday I evaluated it.  Actually, I wrote a post about it but it was remarkably boring so I […]

Leave a Reply

