Happy Thoughts on a Snowy Day

Posted: December 15, 2008 in Uncategorized
  • I love fires burning in the fireplace, and right now we have them going both upstairs and downstairs (real wood, people – no gas fireplaces for us.)  Yay, winter warmth!
  • Most of my Christmas shopping is done and I don’t think I need to explain why this causes me so much happiness.
  • I’m doing a 30-day in-depth study on JOY and – oh my word – it’s messing with my life!  Can you imagine studying only JOY for a whole month?  Doesn’t it seem so indulgent?  Mostly what I’m discovering is that joy is not what I thought it was.  It isn’t quiet or passive or demure.  It’s noisy and audacious and muscle-y.  Heh.  Yeah, it’s kind of a word. It’s been SO good and I can’t wait to see who I am at the end of it!
  • We have some wonderful guests coming to share Christmas dinner with us – this makes my little “feed people” heart very glad.
  • I have been in love with the same man for 25 years.  TWENTY FIVE!  Ridiculous and wonderful, that fact.

So, though it’s been a bit of a rough month, I find that I have a whole lot of happiness just sitting here around the edges and corners of my life. It’s going to be a great week!

Thankful for YOU,

Bo

Comments
  1. Ann Dunagan says:

    JOY to the world!!!!
    (And much joy to you, my dear friend!!!)

    We do have so much to be thankful for, don’t we?
    Here in Hood River, we’ve got about a foot of snow. Late last night, we got two college kids HOME for Christmas! And today is Caela’s birthday! YAY!!!

    Many blessings to you and yours!
    Ann

  2. Anne says:

    I know there is much joy in children’s hearts today…as school is delayed! 😉

    Joy…hmmmm….noisy, audacious..sounds like something that is very good indeed! Is it a book on joy – and would you be so willing as to share it with us?

  3. Tara says:

    I would be more of a fan of snow if I could get to Bend! Stupid stupid bad roads. I am trying again and will hopefully get there within a few hours:-) so much for working at 8. Lets have coffee soon!

  4. Jen Hoffmann says:

    The study on Joy…I’m very interested…your own or a study guide one? Do share…? Could use that.

  5. bolovesjoe says:

    It’s my own study and so far I’m having the time of my life! It’s nothing fancy – just all the scriptures/stories on joy broken down into daily segments and studied through the lens of the questions: what is real joy, where is it found and how do I activate it in my own life? I think it will take about 6 weeks to complete and I’m believing it will transform my thinking. For that, I’m willing to set aside my systematic Bible reading plan. It’ll still be there in six weeks. 🙂 I’ll post the reading list later this week and you can have at it! It’s a LOT of stuff…but some of the coolest stories and situations in the Bible – DEFINITELY the coolest Psalms – relate to the acquisition of joy.

  6. Jessica Carpenter says:

    “The very nature of Joy makes nonsense of our common distinction between having and wanting. There to have is to want and to want is to have. Thus, the very moment I longed to be so stabbed again, was itself again such a stabbing.”
    C.S. Lewis, Surprised by Joy

  7. Karen says:

    Joy is the feeling in your heart when you husband stops what he is doing to go help neighbors who can’t get their car up the hill….

  8. bolovesjoe says:

    Oh, it’s my favorite fellow CS Lewis fan: so good to hear from you, Jess – and such a great quote. I had to read, think, repeat…a lot of times with that one. I hope you’re coming home soon!

    Karen – I couldn’t agree more. A good man is hard to find and worth hanging onto – especially on a snowy day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

