Two Weeks

Posted: December 13, 2008 in Uncategorized

It would be difficult to describe the past two weeks. Except maybe I just did. Such a strange combination of events – some falling directly into our world, but most falling around the periphery into the lives of those we love.

I told Whitney last night that I’m imagining the scripture where Jesus says, “In this world you will have trouble…” and thinking that He then adds, “Um, yeah, welcome to December, sister!”

Okay. So trouble hits. It comes whether you expect it or not. It comes whether you scurry around circumstances in an attempt to prevent it. It comes in each season. It comes in spite of good decisions. It comes in spite of discipline. With relentless reliability, it comes.

But there is something about the steady certainty of trouble that shines a brighter light on the constant faithfulness of Jesus. Much like the way the rolled-away stone is made more beautiful when set against the backdrop of a brutal cross, His goodness is more breathtakingly miraculous in the middle of our pain. I’m starting to see that “working out my salvation” is not just using Jesus to fix my problems, it’s using my problems to fall more in love with Jesus; to let the trouble of the world be the setting that holds, enhances and secures the 14-carat diamond that is redemption. The setting is not invisible (and it isn’t even beautiful), but it serves to make the diamond all the more irresistible.

His love is a wonder, indeed.

With hope,

Bo

Comments
  1. Anne says:

    I guess my only thought (weird there’s only one) is that in our times of trouble, whatever that may be, I’m so thankful for His grace. I don’t know if I could make it through the troubled spots if I wasn’t confident it was there. (that last thought was a bonus.)

    😉

  2. Tracy says:

    We just had this conversation last night! and the only card I could play was…yea but we have Jesus! Could you imagine going through this without the hope of Jesus? could you imagine? i dont even want to imagine..I have my Jesus, and I can get hope from Him to give to others! That is the only thing up my sleeve and the only thing that is dependable in these tims, precious Jesus…
    so as this dreadful December is upon us, we are blessed to be able to have a reason to turn our eyes from our circumstances, our events, our troubles and think forward instead of backwards. Forward thinking isn’t about the future but is about starting your thoughts from the place of hope and thankfullness rather than from the lack and insufficiency. Christmas is hope, it is the very start of our hope! Love you Bo, and praying for you and those around you;)!

  3. Erin & Amber says:

    Bo, Remember that great Theological Movie – Kung Fu Panda?
    “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a
    gift that is why they call it the present”. With all of our
    trouble, I can’t think of a better thing to say but, love
    today. God sees it all and knows. Love the snow, Bo,
    it makes all things new! We love you and we pray for
    fresh snow for Bo and her family…..Father, in the name of Jesus!!!

  4. Ann Dunagan says:

    I’m thinking about you Bo. May the Lord continue to give you His wisdom and insight and strength. And no matter what, as you know, our GOD is worthy of our thoughts and attention (sometimes when I’m going through trouble, a focus on worship-in-spite-of-everything pulls me through).

    Love you!
    Ann

  5. mare says:

    Loved this and so true. Using our troubles to fall more in love with Jesus. Oh. good stuff.

Leave a Reply

