The Waiting Place

Posted: December 8, 2008 in Uncategorized

Have you ever been waiting without knowing what it is you’re waiting for? That’s me right now. I don’t have an end goal or vision of the desired outcome, I’m just sort of waiting for the timer to ring.

I don’t know when or how this season started. I only know that’s it grown uncomfortable; like a midnight craving for something very specific without knowing even what food group to start in. Ice cream? Nah.  Doritos? Nuh uh.  Dill pickles? Nope, that’s not it.

Dr. Seuss says everyone is waiting…waiting for the bus to come or the plane to go or a bell to ring or the rain to go or the phone to ring or the snow to snow. Waiting.

In the movie The Terminal, Victor holds onto his pager as if it holds the key to life, death and all of his future freedom – because it does – and says, “I wait.”  (Sniff.  Man, I love that movie.)

And Job said, “All the days of my struggle, I will wait, until my change comes.”   I could easily end this wait and just get up and do something already, but that’s not the answer this time.  This isn’t a motivation issue, it’s a mystery-of-His-will issue and I know it.  I can feel His hand, holding me back until the gun goes off and I’m so excited to hear that sound, but it’s odd to have really no idea which direction I will run when I do.  I’m sure it will be clear and compelling in time and I know He’s doing things in me that are getting me ready for the race.

But for now – like Victor –  I wait.

Bo

Comments
  1. cassie says:

    um, wow.

    did you read my facebook “status” today? cause i’m pretty sure i’m right there in the Terminal with you!!!!!!! so crazy!

    i feel like i am in the limbo between waiting, and action…. and when HE says “GO” i need to be ready, but am a little bit afraid of what that actually means….strange how that happens.

    waiting to run,
    cassie

  2. Anne says:

    I think I’m waiting because God’s not done dealing with me before He shows me the next step. It seems to be two steps forward, one step back. Although today is more of a one step forward, two steps back. I probably need to re-read all of Job…

  3. Katie says:

    Oh I love that movie so much! Please let’s watch it soon! Eat to bite…hee hee it kills me. 🙂

  4. Jen Hoffmann says:

    Can always count on Bo!
    Thanks for being on the same journey. A moment ago I was journaling about this uncomfortable place of looking up and waiting that I’ve been in for…oh a year or more…and how it’s gotten me in this sort of depression funk. I want so much to be a good “waiter”, because if I can’t wait for Him to move me then am I really surrendered to Him at all? So I keep waiting as best I know how, but then worthlessness and depression set in and I wonder if I’m doing it wrong or something. I actually thought to myself, I wonder what Bo would have to say about surrender and how that looks in actual practice… so I came to your blog and you tell me that you’re waiting too. Which is a relief. Thanks.
    Sometime will you talk to me about the practice of surrender and how a strong-willed, high-energy, highly competent and lovely woman of God practices surrender? I think you must practice it well, and if you can, surely I can learn. If I force myself to be still…not make my own decisions, not start my own “things”, then I go to the other extreme and stop caring at all about any of the decisions and things. I can’t seem to find the balance point. Aargh!
    Sometime I’d love to hear: “Bo Sterns: On Surrender…”
    🙂

  5. Tracy says:

    hmmmm…interesting this waiting thing…..could it be we are all being prepared for the same thing?

  6. I think Tacy’s on to something. I have nothing to say or add, because it’s already been said! This post explains my life to the “T”!

Leave a Reply

