Complete your Bible College Education in One Chapter

Posted: December 6, 2008 in Uncategorized

So, I actually went to college to receive an education in all things God (my daughter attends the same school.)  It’s a wonderful college, really it is, but it is a bit pricey considering that the last part of Romans 12 is about as complete an education as anyone would ever need.  Take a look at this handy how-to-live-like-God list:

  • If you preach, preach God’s message, nothing else.
  • If you help, don’t take over.
  • If you teach, stick to your teaching.
  • If you give encouraging guidance, be careful that you don’t get bossy. (ouch)
  • If you’re put in charge, don’t manipulate.
  • If you’re called to give aid to people in distress, keep your eyes open and be quick to respond.
  • If you work with the disadvantaged, don’t let yourself get irritated with them.
  • Keep a smile on your face.  (Yikes.)
  • Love from the center of who you are – don’t fake it.
  • Run from evil.
  • Hold on for dear life to good.
  • Be a good friend who loves deeply.
  • Practice playing second fiddle.
  • Don’t burn out; keep yourself fueled and aflame.
  • Be alert to ways that you can cheerfully serve God in any situation.
  • Don’t quit.  When things get hard – pray harder!
  • Help needy Christians.
  • Find creative ways to welcome others into your life and home.
  • Bless your enemies, even when people aren’t listening. (Sigh)
  • Rejoice with happy friends, cry with sad ones.
  • Get along. (rats)
  • Don’t be inaccessible to others.
  • Make friends with nobodies – don’t be the great somebody.
  • Don’t hit back. (except when your husband sings to you in the morning and you don’t want him to.)
  • Discover beauty in everyone.
  • If at all possible, get along with everyone.
  • Don’t insist on getting even – trust God to take care of it.
  • Buy your enemy lunch; help meet his needs.
  • Don’t let evil get the best of you – overcome it by doing good.

Wow.  I think maybe I have a few semesters years to go before I master the art of divinity.

Learning,

Bo

Comments
  1. Hey Bo,

    I will try not to be so wordy this time.

    I wrote a post in October called Be Careful What You Commit to Memory…I spent the month of October memorizing Romans 12…whew…at times I just was slayed…it was an incredible month and the chapter lives with me…during that month, I prayed through the chapter and then one day it dawned on me that everything single part of the chapter is about being a living sacrifice. I know…duh…but it all stems from that attitude, mindset…that aim that begins with the Lord. So I prayed it again and after each verse I repeated verse one…Therefore in view of God’s mercy, offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God, this is your spiritual act of worship…so for example…as far as it depends with me, live at peace with everyone…therefore, in view of God’s mercy, offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God…this is your spiritual act of worship… etc. etc…AMEN!

    This chapter has rocked my world!

    I guess I saved a lot of money with my old NIV…

  2. I just read James 2:17&18 and commented on my church blog about our faith being nothing without good deeds. Romans 12 is full of examples of good deeds. We lay down our own lives when we think and act for others. The older I get, the more I realize the problems people have are usually with themselves, not with others. If we think about others and live our lives for others, God seems to take care of the rest of the “us” we worry so much about.
    Vs 18 (NLT) I will show you my faith by my good deeds.”

  3. Hey Bo,
    Thank you for posting that. I printed it out to read and re-read. Definately some stuff I need to work on there! It encouraged me today, when I am frustrated about some things.
    God Bless!!
    Megan

  4. jonathan says:

    Hey Bo! Sandy and I have been sneaking some visits to your blog in the past month or so. Quite enjoyable. It’s funny you grabbed this chapter. I have the Bible on CD in my car when I drive and I came across Romans 12 a few weeks ago. It’s been on repeat ever since. I find myself thinking, “what more do I need”. It’s like the Bible’s cliff notes.

    Say hello to your family for us.

    from 70 and sunny san diego,
    jonathan

Leave a Reply

