Hello Social Justice

Posted: December 5, 2008 in Uncategorized

hello-kitty-diamond-ring5I was on Facebook the other day, and an ad popped up for the Hello Kitty line at Zales Diamonds.

Adorable?  Sure.  Expensive?  $400.  Kimora Simmons has a similar line with prices reaching $2500 so this is actually a pretty low rent Hello Kitty ring.

Honestly, I don’t consider myself a social activist.  I have a few issues I deeply care about and they have managed to squeeze through the door of my moral code.  I don’t buy stuff that was made in India because of the child slavery issues there.  I support causes that give to orphans because having a mom and dad was a pretty big deal for me.  I don’t buy diamonds because too many children are being hurt by that industryWay too many. (Shout-out to Tori whose favorite movie is Blood Diamond.  That kid needs to lighten up, I tell you.)

Having said all that, I just feel pretty strongly that – given the diamond wars and the condition of our economy and the fact that so many little girls in the world have no place to call home and no one to love them – this ring is a bad idea.  So, if you must buy Hello Kitty for your child, roommate, fiance (oh goodness – is there a HK wedding set? don’t!), could I suggest these lovely alternatives:

They’re tasteful, understated and  – even with shipping – you’re going to spend $390 LESS than the little bauble above will cost you. Also, come on – it’s a scuba diving kitty.  That’s some potent cuteness!   You can make a statement AND send an orphan to college in one fell swoop.  That’s almost a Christmas miracle.

With love for everyone who loves Hello Kitty,

Bo


Comments
  1. Jen Hoffmann says:

    You DO come across the oddest things on the internet Funny Girl!

  2. bolovesjoe says:

    No, Jen, I prefer to think that THEY find ME. I’m an odd-item magnet, I believe. 🙂

  3. Um, I would just like to say that Blood Diamond is one of the most wonderfully tear-your-cozy-American-life-in-two movie in the past few years. One that I consider on the level of Born into Brothels and far exceeding Hotel Rwanda. I would also like to say that the self-contained underwater breathing apparatus Hello Kitty is just adorable.:)

    Here’s the link to the best prodigal son illustration ever from the movie Blood Diamond: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QRWve1dr2JI

Leave a Reply

