Singing the Superlatives of the Turkey Sandwich

Posted: November 25, 2008 in Uncategorized

I love this post on famous chefs’ favorite turkey sandwiches at my new favorite blog, Serious Eats.turkey-sandwich

My sandwich of choice year after year (after year) is:  white meat turkey on a dinner roll with brie or cream cheese, cranberry sauce, salt and pepper…leftover stuffing on the side.

What I want to try, however, is:  turkey, avocado, mayo, bacon (don’t judge me) and sliced tomato on toasted sourdough.  This will be the year!

Also, for Bendites: Nancy P’s often serves a Thanksgiving Leftovers Wrap that’s pretty darn good.  Be on the lookout! For non-Bendites:  why-oh-why do you live in a place that isn’t?

So what’s on your turkey sandwich?

Gobble and waddle,

Bo

Comments
  1. Oh that looks so good, and I just ate dinner so you gotta know that’s one yummy looking sandwich! Why am I on the computer when I have cooking and cleaning to do?!?
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Tami says:

    Hands down best sandwich ever is from a place in CA (it’s a chain) called Togo’s….french roll, turkey, mayo, and smashed up avacado like guacamole but it’s just avacado, lettuce, tomato, and peppercinis. Yummo!!!!! Give the avacado thing a try this year Bo and let me know what you think. Bacon added is nice but I prefer without. And I like the mashed avacado because you get it with every bite!

    Gobble gobble and sure to be wobble wobble before it’s over, Tami

  3. Helen says:

    I love turkey sandwiches in general be it from leftovers or turkey from the deli.

    But after Thanksgiving, it would have to be whole wheat bread, on one side cream cheese, then turkey (white meat please) and cranberry sauce on the other side. I believe this is called a Norman Rockwell…thus the reason that I always have a can or two of whole berry cranberries for when the craving beckons…or if I need to make cranberry upside down meatloaf…but that is another yummy story.

    Blessed Thanksgiving to you Bo!

    Helen

  4. Megan says:

    You are making me hungry!!! I had a simple turkey sandwich at Starbucks the other day, and I loved it! It had turkey and stuffing on it. I have never eaten stuffing on a sandwich…and (gasp) have never actually made myself a sandwich with Thanksgiving leftovers. (I must echo you- don’t judge me! lol). Sounds like you like to eat. How do you manage to stay so skinny?? I’m gonna end up packing on the pounds this week. Back to being hungry- thank goodness I am making a little Thanksgiving feast for my little family of 4 tomorrow. On Thursday we hit 2 family dinners, his and mine. It makes for a crazy but fun holiday! So thats a lot of food- yum. Now you have me planning for leftovers. Double yum! God bless you and your family this Thanksgiving!

  5. bolovesjoe says:

    Violet – I stopped by your lovely blog and left you a comment.

    Tami – totally googled Togo’s and it was the roast beef sandwiches that made me want to get in my car and take a road trip to So. Cal.

    Helen – awww…I’ve missed you! I hope your Thanksgiving is wonderful and peaceful. I saw your meatloaf recipe last year and want to try it…it looks delightful.

    Megan – I DO love to eat and I love to cook and this is not a healthy combination for me. When we go somewhere else for Thanksgiving, I cook a turkey for our family for leftovers…that’s how committed I am to the sandwich. 🙂 Christmas isn’t as big a deal to me…sometimes we even go out. I think the presents absorb some of the focus on the food. This is why Thanksgiving is the BEST holiday ever!

  6. Karen says:

    Did someone say “Togos”? I used to work at a church across the street from Togos in Chico ….oh my the staff meetings we had!

    So this year is the year we try Turkey Reubens with saurkraut and guyere cheese which I think I just spelled wrong. I haven’t found the saurkraut in a jar (the good stuff) yet so I’ll have to hit Whole Foods this weekend.

    Personally I love the turkey/cranberry sandwich combo the best.

  7. Anne says:

    Well, not sure about leftovers since we’ll be having Thanksgiving with my brother’s family (12 kids!) and can they eat! But if I DID have leftovers it would be turkey on whole wheat (I’m so ‘safe’ that way) with lots of real mayo, deli mustard, lettuce and pepper. Bo, I like your idea of living dangerously with bacon so I’d throw some of that on there also.

    Have an awesome Thanksgiving!

  8. Katie says:

    I watched the Biggest Loser last night, and needless to say I don’t know if can eat this Thanksgiving! 😦

  9. […] They’re not thankful, but I am. For more than my fingers can type and more than my heart can hold. May your day be blessed with peace, hope and an award-winning turkey sandwich! […]

Leave a Reply

