Matthew and the Biggest Loser

Posted: November 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

Then Jesus said to His disciples, “if anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross and follow Me.  For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever desires to lose his life for My sake will find it.  For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world and loses his soul?  Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul? Matthew 14:24-27

Whoever desires to save his life, will lose it. Bad news.  I really want to save my life.  In fact I’m pretty sure that, when push came to shove, I would generally choose to save my own life over someone else’s life.  I suspect this is true of most of humanity.

And whoever loses his life will find it. Good news.  Because losing our lives enables us to let go of self-protection and strife and vain ambition and all the get-aheadedness that causes us to lose sleep and sweat bullets and hurt others.  Losing our lives lets us throw caution to the wind and get in the boat with Jesus and say “take me there”.  Where?  The deep? “Sure!”  The storm? “You bet!”  The other side? “Absolutely!  And hey, I’ve got my cross right here in case anyone needs us to save them on the way.” What a good, free, wonderful life.

I get chances to practice this every day – when people aren’t what I want them to be, when life is hard and lines are long and the world is broken and brutal.  I get this marvelous opportunity to live unbound by the fear of losing my own life; I get to take up my cross and say, “I’m already dead anyway.”

The theme of my year has been that true freedom is not security or blessing or provision or purpose.  True freedom is becoming true friends with Jesus.  I see this scripture as another layer of that big truth.  Whoever lays down all the stuff that they’ve been working so hard to protect, will find all the stuff of Jesus waiting on the other side of that decision.  So good!  So exciting!

I can’t wait to get to losing,

Bo

Comments
  1. Anne says:

    I’m with you Bo. It’s time to throw caution to the wind and just get in the boat with Jesus and see where he needs to take me. (I’ve been working on that, but think my boat probably needs to be able to sail into even choppier waters for Him to REALLY do what He needs to with me).

    Btw, Mekenzie is a doll! 😉

  2. “Take up your cross and follow me,” I think that this also means that we are to remember what kind of life we laid at the foot of the cross when we were saved. That I am to show people what my own cross would have looked like if it weren’t for Jesus Christ. The power of my testimony!

    Taking up my cross is a way of saying, “remember what I set you free from; carry your freedom, not your chains!”

    I imagine too, that carrying a cross requires both hands, which leaves nothing left for me to hold onto this life with!

    It’s kind of funny though, that we get in such a fuss by the things that have us “bound” when all we have to do is simply let go! Isn’t that sort of like drowning in knee deep water?

    Hey Bo, I’d really love your input on my latest post, if you get a moment to spare. It’s kind of my own spinnoff from your “Who should I marry” posts. Love you.

Leave a Reply

