The Wonderful Katie

Posted: June 30, 2008 in Uncategorized

Today is the birthday of my beloved Katie.  She has been my assistant for two years and my friend for way longer.  While I’m sure being my assistant looks like a job loaded with glitz and glamor around every turn…it’s actually…um…not so much.  And she is great, great at keeping me sane, settled and in attendance at meetings I would otherwise miss because Outlook remains pretty much a mystery to me.  I appreciate her for a million reasons, here are a few of them:

  • She makes excellent faces in meetings.
  • She is clever and witty in ways that most of us can only dream of becoming someday.
  • She is overqualifed for her job, but does it with passion and skill out of love for God’s house.
  • She has walked with her high school small group so faithfully through up’s and down’s…and MORE down’s…and many would have bailed.  Because my daughter is in her group, I appreciate her steady, wise pastoring more than I can say.
  • She keeps me clued in to cool, new music and then I pretend I discovered it myself.
  • She is my only friend who also loves Parilla and it’s there that she introduced me to the Red Headed Step Child which is quite a lovely little wrap.
  • She is patient.
  • She loves the Word and knows it well.
  • She is prophetic.
  • She will be a great, great mom someday.
  • She brings coffee to the office when she knows stressful meetings are going on.  Not that there are ever stressful meetings in a church…but you know, if there were…she’d bring coffee.
  • She is a great speaker, though she’s not convinced about that fact herself just yet.  Soon.

I just love Katie, and I’m so thankful for the way she puts up with the good and bad of her job inside a high-velocity megachurch and her job with an unorganized, emotional half-boss (Jay is the other half of her boss collection).

You are wonderful, Katie, and I’m believing that 26 is going to be the very best ever.

I love you!

Bo

P.S.  My gift to you?  I didn’t put a picture in this post.  Kidding!  I’ll get you a real gift.

Comments
  1. tessabigail says:

    Yes, Indeed Katie is amazing. And yes she has been your faithful assistant, I can only imagine how hard that must be… Just kidding {:)

    Love ya! (both of you) 🙂

    ♥♥♥ Tess

    P.S. I found your cute little smiley face in the bottom left corner 🙂

  2. Jezi says:

    YAY! we get to celebrate another year of Katie. i too love her dearly !

Leave a Reply

